My Mum Knows Me Well

This isn’t really that art-related, though I guess it kind of is…

I love children’s books, especially books with loads of beautiful illustrations and with stories that have such a life about them that leaves you smiling. I often look to children’s books for inspiration for my illustrations, and I admire the many varying styles between illustrators.

Because I moved around a lot growing up (once every 2-3 years, 4 countries and 9 houses before I was 16 years old) we got rid of or lost a lot of my childhood possessions including the majority of my storybooks. I do have a few of my own though, including the whole collection of A.A.Milne’s Winnie the Pooh series (that I bought for myself a couple of years ago), a signed copy of Katie Morag and the Two Grandmothers by Mairi Hederwick which I bought when Mairi visited my school when I was 10, and a fair few Roald Dahl books.

One of my favourite children’s authors and illustrators is Lynley Dodd her characters are beautiful as is her illustration style, and she is an inspiration of mine because she has made her living both writing and illustrating children’s books inspired by animals. Back in October, my Mum and I visited Lynley Dodd’s Retrospective exhibition at the Dowse Museum in Lower Hutt, full of her illustrations, from concept sketches to finished pages, it was fully the best exhibition I’ve been to it was like a history of her career. Then yesterday Mum came home and presented me with another children’s book to add to my collection, Lynley Dodd’s latest book: Slinky Malinki, Early Bird. (pictured below)

1

I am truly lucky that Mum and my Dad too, have always been so supportive of my choice of career path and the inner child-side that has never really left me.

Leave a Reply

